• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Requiem (SATB, soloists: sop/alto/ten, harp, organ) - duration  30’'
written in memory of Norman Lane

"Requiem” was begun in a morning break at school, the day after one of the school music teachers had passed away during a recital.


It was to be a three movement piece, but I later decided to write more movements of the Requiem Mass. The opening movement (performed a few years later by the New Priory Singers at the Tyburn convent, Marble Arch) and the Agnus Dei, (which has received a number of performances) and the Pie Jesu, were both written whilst at school. The other movements followed shortly afterwards.

Some of the movements, such as the Agnus Dei and Pie Jesu, are also suitable for performance alone. The harp is only required for the “Libera Me.”


The whole Requiem has yet to be performed in its entirity.


Tyburn Convent, Marble Arch (1st movement)  - The New Priory Singers,

Ickenham Music Festival - Ickenham United Reformed Church Choir, Rachel Wigg (sop), Elaine Macgregor (contralto), Mark Denza (Ten.)

1st movement: The New Priory Singers
4th movement: Rachel Wigg / Elaine MacGregor / Mark Denza / Paul Ayres (organ)
7th movement: Nicola Elliot and Ickenham URC Choir / Ken Eaves (organ)
10th movement: Ickenham URC Choir / Rachel Wigg / Elaine MacGregor / Paul Ayres (organ)

Listen to samples:
I    Requiem
IV Pie Jesu
VII Agnus Dei
X Requiem Aeternum