• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Ask and it Shall be Given Unto You

- soprano / mezzo / piano

-   solo sop  / piano (or organ)

-   also arranged for choir  (SSA / piano)

There are three arrangements of this piece. The original is for solo soprano, alto and piano. It is based upon the texts “Ask and it shall be given unto you, seek, and ye shall find,” (Luke Chapter 7, vs.vii/viii ) and consists of simple, flowing melodic lines, woven between the parts, throughout. It tries to capture some of the different aspects of the text: the calm, the joy, and the prayerful. It is extremely melodic.

It was arranged for solo soprano and organ at the request of composer Paul Patterson, for a family member, and has since also been arranged for solo soprano and piano.


There is also a choral version for SSA and piano.


Ickenham United Reformed Church - Nicola Elliot / Joanne Syme / Kirsty
Kirsty Purves (organ)

- St. Anne's, Chingford - Hazel Ross / Joane Syme / Elie fruchter-Murray

Vyners School, Ickenham - Rachel Wigg / Elie fruchter-Murray



Nicola Elliot / Joanne Syme / Elie fruchter-Murray

Hazel Ross /Joanne Syme / Elie fruchter-Murray


Rachel Wigg / Elie fruchter Murray - Listen to Sample